VACC Automotive Design Awards 2013: the winners

in: Car Design Competitions 12 July 2013
VACC Automotive Design Awards 2013: the winners

VACC Automotive Design Awards has announced the winners of its 2013 contest, open to secondary and tertiary students in Victoria, Australia.


The awards ceremony for this year’s VACC Automotive Design Awards took place in the Deakin Edge, Federation Square and more than 250 automotive industry guests attended the event, presented by Minister for Manufacturing, Major Projects and Ports, David Hodgett.

L1-FE Concept by Anthony Farnell from Monash University, winner in the Tertiary Model category

Automotion Concept by Daniel Debono from RMIT, winner in the Tertiary Essay and Design categories

The winners in the six different categories are:

  • Tertiary Essay: Daniel Debono – RMIT
  • Tertiary Model: Anthony Farnell – Monash
  • Tertiary Design: Daniel DeBono – RMIT
  • Secondary Essay: Eddie Gaudernack – Simonds Catholic College
  • Secondary Model: Hamzah Brown – Trinity Grammar School, Kew
  • Secondary Design: Todd Linnett – Mildura Senior College

Each winner in the Model-Making and Design categories received $3000 and an equal amount was awarded to the winning School/College or University. The winners in the Essay categories and their Schools were each awarded a prize of $500.

In addition, Ford Australia selected two secondary student entrants – Hamzah Brown form Trinity Grammar School and Kew Aman Bhatti from Lavalla Catholic College – for an internship at the Ford Design Centre and one tertiary student – Kouhei Kawakami from Monash – received the inaugural Australian Overseas Federation Overseas Scholarship, sponsored by the Victorian Government.

The VACC Automotive Design Awards were supported by a number of automotive partners including Ford, Holden and Toyota.

The three local car makers provided display vehicles for the function and judges for the Judging Panel, including Ford Australia, Design Director, Joel Piaskowski, GM Holden Chief Designer Richard Ferlazzo, and Toyota Manager, Product Design Nicolas Hogios.

For more information you can visit or check the report at

About VACC

The VACC Automotive Design Awards is an annual automotive design competition for secondary and tertiary students in Victoria.

Introduced by VACC (Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce) in 2006, the Design Awards donates $26,000 total prize money, with winners and their school or university receiving the same amount.

Official Statements

“The level of talent on display was highly impressive. The quality and quantity of automotive designs is testament to Victoria’s reputation as Australia’s hub for automotive and advanced manufacturing. The VACC Automotive Design Awards is a fantastic opportunity for Victorian students to display their work and have it viewed by prominent members of the Australian automotive industry,” Minister Hodgett said.

“A record number of entrants produced a record number of entries this year. Well done to all the students and special congratulations to all the winners,” VACC Executive Director, David Purchase, said.

“For every student, school and university that this event touches, there is a positive outcome, but we want to see more students competing, more schools and universities participating and more opportunities for young automotive designers. The Design Awards is a bridge from school to university and from university to employment. We are proud that so many entrants have gone on to further their career in the automotive industry,” Mr Purchase said.

(Source: VACC)

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/carbodyd/public_html/admin/wordpress/wp-content/themes/carbodydesign/modules/related-posts.php on line 63


Leave a Comment

Find a Car